Partially, the mandate of Ekkula Pearl of Africa Tourism Awards is to Research and recognize the best players in the Uganda’s Tourism Industry as we all continue to motivate many more to join it.

The criteria for selecting winners was based on 50% votes and 50% verdict of Judges met a healthy and intense competition.

Several bodies and institutions contributed to success of the 2017 Ekkula awards: these include: The Ministry Of Tourism, Judges 2017, Uganda Wildlife, Uganda Tourism Board, Bank of Uganda, Hotel Africana, and Civil Aviation Authority. The winners will given a treat at UWEC and Ngamba Island.

The winners

Outstanding tourism model

Amos Wekesa

Best tourism ambassador

Denis Onyango-African Player of the year

Most user friendly tourism association

Association of Uganda tour operators –Auto

Tourism event of the year

Kampala City Festival

Best traditional dance troupe

Rockies Troupe

Best tourism promotional/ cultural fusion song


Best Tourism initiative

Tulambule Weekend escape

Best Night Spot

Club Amnesia- Kampala
Best Private cultural center

Igongo cultural centre

Private Wildlife Conservation Center

Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary –Lake Victoria

Most active tourism cluster

Busoga Tourism initiative

Best institutional museum and antique center

Namugongo museum –faith based

Best community museums/ antique center

Great lakes museum

Best traditional cuisine restaurant

2k Restaurant

Best Tourism Training Center

Uganda Hotel and Tourism Training Institute –Jinja

Best Tourism Blog/ Magazine
View Uganda

Best supporting Tourism photographer

L-Joe experience

Best eco lodge/ resort

Crater Safari lodge Kibaale

Best tourism supporting journalist

Shaban Senyange-Urban TV

Best supporting corporate company

Movit products

Best recreational center

Kavumba Recreational center

Best supporting Airlines- economy class

Ethiopian Airlines

Best supporting Airlines- Business class

Emirates airlines

Kampala City Festival

Best supporting Hotel

Hotel Africana

Young Tourism Achiever Award

Irene Nakitende

Best Service/ luxury Standard Hotel

Speke Resort Munyonyo